V-Strom – SW Motech Auxiliary lights

I’m a big fan of being seen one the road – it might just keep me alive!

With that in mind, I’ve fitted some SW  Motech auxiliary light to my V-Strom’s engine bars.

The lights come with their own wiring, including fuse, relay and handlebar switch. Fitting them was pretty easy – just connect the red adn black wires to the battery, then wiggle the wires up through the side fo the bike towards the headstock. The included wiring diagram shows pretty clearly which wires go towards the switch and which go to the lights themselves.

Then just fit the lights and the switch and connect it all up – easy!

What I’ve not yet done is worked out how the wire them up so that they switch off when the bike is switched off. And sure I just need to piggy back a wire somewhere – I’ll work it out and post my findings!

Bright light!

Bright light!

You can see the optional light mountings that you need to mount the lights to your engine bars

You can see the optional light mountings that you need to mount the lights to your engine bars

Add some cable tidy to finish the job!

Add some cable tidy to finish the job!

Leave a Reply

